The Finance Ministry has released Rs 9,871 crore as a grant to 17 states.

The Finance Ministry announced on Tuesday that it had released the fifth monthly instalment of the revenue deficit assistance to 17 states, totalling Rs 9,871 crore. Article 275 of the Constitution provides the states with the Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant.

The grants are distributed in monthly instalments in accordance with the 15th Finance Commission’s recommendations to close the revenue gap in the governments’ accounts following devolution. The commission has recommended that the 17 states get this award in the years 2021-22.

[pt_view id=”c8bb8e9z6d”]

On August 9, 2021, the Department of Expenditure released the fifth monthly instalment of the Post Devolution Revenue Deficit (PDRD) grant to the states, totalling Rs 9,871 crore, according to a statement from the ministry.

In the current financial year, a total of Rs 49,355 crore has been distributed to eligible states.

Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttarakhand, and West Bengal are among the states nominated for the PDRD Grant by the Fifteenth Finance Commission.

E-way Bill blocking for non-payers will resume from August 15

In the financial year 2021-22, the Fifteenth Finance Commission has suggested a total PDRD Grant of Rs 1,18,452 crore for the 17 states. So far, Rs 49,355 crore (41.67 per cent) has been released from this total.